Senate | Ex-officio | Chancellor

Mr David Flanagan AM CitWA

David Flanagan

Senate approved the appointment of Mr David Flanagan as its Chair and new Chancellor on 8 August 2013. He was re-appointed for a further three-year term to 7 August 2019.

Mr Flanagan is a geologist with more than 25 years’ experience in the multi commodity mining and mineral exploration industry in Australia, Indonesia and Africa.

Mr Flanagan has a BSc Mining & Minerals Exploration Geology, undertaken at Curtin University, School of Mines in Western Australia. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Member of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.

During 2014, Mr Flanagan was named the Western Australian of the Year and Western Australian Business Leader of the Year. He was awarded an Eisenhower Fellowship in 2013 and remains active in the not for profit sector.

In January 2018 Mr Flanagan was awarded the prestigious Member of the General Division of the Order of Australia Award.